

Good Life. Great Mission.

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES



No. 19-12

PROVIDER BULLETIN

DATE: August 28, 2019

TO: All Providers Participating in Nebraska Medicaid Program

- FROM: Matthew A. Van Patton, DHA, Director Division of Medicaid & Long-Term Care
- BY: Denise Woolman, Program Specialist RN

RE: Fee For Service Home Health Agency Prior Authorization/Claim Requirement Changes

This provider bulletin is being issued to notify Medicaid providers of upcoming changes to the prior authorization and claim submission requirements for <u>fee-for-service</u> home health agencies.

Per 471 Nebraska Administrative Code (NAC) 9, prior authorization is required for all home health agency services. To ensure timely and appropriate provision of these services, the following changes to the fee for service prior authorization and claim submission processes are being implemented effective August 28, 2019.

To request prior authorization, the home health agency must submit to Medicaid a copy of the physician's order and the home health agency's plan of care. Medicaid will accept a signature or verbal authorization from the physician on the plan of care at prior authorization submittal. Verbal authorizations must be signed by the physician within 30 days. The signed plan of care must be submitted with the claim. If the plan of care was not signed by the physician within 30 days of the receipt of verbal order, the claim will be denied.

Please see 471 NAC 9 for all other requirements of home health agency fee for service prior authorization and claims submission.

If you have questions regarding this bulletin, please contact Denise Woolman at (402) 471-0569, or via email at: <u>DHHS.MedicaidHomeHealth@nebraska.gov</u>. This provider bulletin applies only to provision of home health agency services for fee-for-service Medicaid. For prior authorization/claim submission requirements for managed care members, please contact the appropriate managed care organization.

Provider Bulletins, such as this one, are posted on the DHHS website at <u>http://dhhs.ne.gov/pages/Medicaid-Provider-Bulletins.aspx</u>. Please subscribe to the page to help you stay up to date about new Provider Bulletins.

This guidance document is advisory in nature but is binding on an agency until amended by such agency. A guidance document does not include internal procedural documents that only affect the internal operations of the agency and does not impose additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties or include confidential information or rules and regulations made in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. If you believe that this guidance document imposes additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties, you may request a review of the document.